Doctor Atomic

Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5

Grade 5

composer: John Adams and Sting
Winds arranged by Shane Kebley
Percussion arranged by Manny Maldonado and Katie Leander

Doctor Atomic is an exciting show based from John Adams Doctor Atomic Symphony. The pre-show introduces the notion of atomic energy, study, and that there are plans for making the atomic bomb.

Part 1 and 2 build energy, excitement, and worry over the bomb's existence.

In Part 3, Sting's Russians Love Their Children Too is played as a contrast to the angular and aggressive beginning. The audience is left to contemplate that whoever the bomb is directed to, their loved ones will suffer just as our loved ones would if we were presented with such a tragedy.

Part 4 builds up energy again, as the moment to launch and detonate has arrived. Chaos and destruction ensues at the end of the movement.

Part 5 opens as a contemplation of thought with the trumpet playing the Russians melody. The show closes with hope for mankind, so that we would never have to do such a tragic act again in all of humanity.

Inquire about Doctor Atomic